Our organization

About The Elmore County Art Guild

The concept of forming the Elmore County Art Guild began as an idea discussed by several Elmore County artists.  The first organizational meeting was held in Wetumpka on January 26, 1985, at the home of Jo Glenn a former mayor of Wetumpka. Founding members include: Doris Bell, Duane Bratton, Martha Connell, Eula Dickson, Barbara Fitzgerald, Jo Glenn, Judy Lea Graves, Ora Kniskern, Margaret Knox, Reba Matthews, Betty Meadows, Ann Morrow, Frances Spence, and Mildred Trotter.

Today, the membership is made up of approximately 80 diverse individuals with varying backgrounds and interest. Regular meetings, which include educational programs, are held on a monthly basis with the exception of June, July, and August. The primary objective of the Guild is to advance and promote the appreciation, enjoyment and exhibition of the visual arts, for the mutual improvement, cultural benefit, and social enlightenment of Guild members and the public at large.

In addition to organizing annual adjudicated exhibitions, the Guild maintains regular ongoing exhibits at the Wetumpka Depot Players theater, the Wetumpka Public Library, and the Wetumpka City Hall. The Guild’s signature exhibition is the Annual Guild Show is typically held in February of each year at the Wetumpka City Hall located at 408 South Main Street in Wetumpka. The Guild also sponsors several community outreach projects.

The Elmore County Art Guild maintains a strict policy against PLAGIARISM and COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT.

Download ECAG Bylaws

Membership is open to all adults and students in grades 9-12 that are artist or interested in supporting and promoting the arts. Read More
Adult programs are scheduled on a regular basis. Programs range form plein air painting sessions to studio visits and demonstrations. Read More
Sparking the Arts is an annual student achievement program designed for students in kindergarden through 12-grade. Read More

36th Annual Guild Show

The much anticipated annual event offers artists and excellent opportunity to sell and display their work. The 2020 show will open on February 23 and close on February 28. The 2020 show was the largest every. The Annual Guild Show is an adjudicated show with awards given in the following categories: Two-Dimensional Not Under Glass, Two-Dimensional Under Glass, Three-Dimensional & Pottery, Photography & Printmaking.

Learn More

Telephone Us

Contact us by telephone at: 334.399.5115

E-Mail Us

Contact us by email at: info@ElmoreCountyArtGuild.com

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is made up of 9 individuals dedicated to promoting the arts. Two directors are elected each year by the membership for a two-year term.

  • Shirley Esco: President
  • Barbara Bryan Vice-President
  • Richard Harbin: Treasurer 
  • Ildiko Andrews: Secretary
  • Doris Bell: Past President
  • Mark Harris: Publicity Chair
  • Robert Bowden, Charlotte Williams, Joyce Evans, Members at Large